HOW TO: Disable Gatekeeper

Description: First introduced in OS X Lion v10.7.5 as part of the operating system's antimalware features, it is Apple's way of making sure the application that the user is about to install has been digitally signed by one of Apple's authorized developers.

The default setting with OS X 10.7.5 was "anywhere," with Mountain Lion OS X 10.8 that default has been set at "Mac App Store and identified developers." However, you can change it in the System Preferences panel.

  1. A program has been blocked by Gatekeeper:



  2. Open System Preferences.



  3. Choose Security & Privacy.



  4. If necessary, click the lock and enter your password to allow changes.



  5. You then have three options:
    a. Mac App Store.
    b. Mac App Store and identified developers.
    c. Anywhere (Not recommended, unless you are positive it is from a trusted source)



  6. After making your selection, click the lock and close the window.



  7. Once you double click on the new application you will get a warning advising you that it has been downloaded from the internet, and if you are sure that you want to open it. In some instances it will provide you with a link to the website from where it was downloaded, for you to decide if it's safe to open or not.



  8. You now can open your new application.

For more assistance contact Technical Support here.

Satisfaction Guaranteed

We guarantee your satisfaction on every product we sell with a full refund - no receipt needed if you have a Micro Center Insider Account.

Service & Repair

We're your trusted local service and repair professionals.
How can we help?